Working with SFMC Journey Builder? Here are 5 things you should know

Alessia Mastroianni
6 min readMay 7, 2020

I started working with Salesforce Marketing Cloud (SFMC) over two years ago. My experience with other Marketing Automation Platforms helped me grasp the concepts of SFMC quite swiftly, however, it was natural for me to compare the tools and capabilities between the platforms, sometimes finding positive enhancements, other times, unfortunately, banging my head against what I would call ‘product gaps’.

Today, we are going to talk about Journey Builder. If you are not familiar with this tool, it is a visual flow that allows Marketeers to create automated multi-touch and multi-channel (Email, SMS, Push Notifications, Ads) customer journeys (think about a welcome campaign for example or an event program).

Journey Builder Sample

Here are 5 things I wish I knew before I started.

  1. There is no “Pause” button.

First lesson learnt: the only way to edit an active (live) journey is to create a new version. While you are working on the new version, records will still flow through the old, but still active version — unless stopped. Once the new version is activated, the previous version status will change to “Finishing”, allowing the current members to complete the journey. Once all members have reached the end and exited the journey, this version status will change to “Stopped” and all new…

--

--

Alessia Mastroianni

Marketing Automation Architect working at Salesforce. 6x Salesforce certified. Salesforce #MarketingChampion 2020.